Citroen Motorsport

Citroen Motorsport

Citroen Racing is the department of Citroen Company’s dedicated to motorsport. Citroen’s official racing history begins in 1990 when they entered the Rally Raid. In 1993 the Citroen ZX Rally raid won the constructor’s championship. This continued until 1997. The drivers were Pierre Lartigue and Ari Vatanen. Citroen also won the Dakar Rally in 1991, 1994, 1995, and 1996. In 1991 Citroen won the Pharaons Rally and in 1992 won the Tunisia Rally. In 1998 Citroen, after its withdrawal from the Rally Raid competition, it entered the French Rally Championship with the Xsara Kit Car. At the wheel, Philippe Bugalski won drivers titles in 1998 and 1999, and Sébastien Loeb won the driver title in 2001. In addition Citroen competed in asphalt races of the World Rally Championship with the same car. In 2001 Citroen Xsara T4 WRC debuted on selected rounds in the WRC. Citroen dominated the Junior WRC with Sebastian Loeb at the wheel of a Saxo VTS S1600. The next year Citroen participated in 8 of the 14 races of WRC. For 2003 Citroen entered for the whole season to WRC. They signed for 3 drivers: Former champions Colin McRae and Carlos Sainz and also Sebastian Loeb. In their first full year, the team took the Manufacturers’ championship, while Sebastian Loeb finished second in the driver’s championship. The manufacturer’s championships continued until 2005 and then again continued from 2008 until 2012. Sebastian Loeb won the driver’s championship with a Xsara WRC the years 2004, 2005, 2006, with a C4 WRC the years 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010 and with a DS3 WRC the years 2011 and 2012. For 2013 and 2014 Citroen continues to compete in the WRC. For 2013 Loeb raced selected races but for 2014 he retired.

Whatsoever Loeb didn’t retire races generally. He follows Citroen to their next racing step which is competing for WTCC in 2014 with a 1.6 lt turbocharged WTCC C-Elysee of nearly 380 bhp. An engine that comes from the WRC DS3. With races in Latin America, Mediterranean, China and Russia, Citroen is hoping to increase its presence to these countries. The first race is on the 5th and 6th of April 2014 in Morocco.

The Citroen WTCC C-Elysee

The Citroen WTCC C-Elysee


(Citroen Racing, 10 Jan. 2014)

(WTCC and C-Elysee photo, 10 Jan. 2014)

(WTCC, 11 Jan. 2014)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: